Campus Advisory Committee

The Campus Advisory Committee is an invaluable resource for ensuring that the Botanical Garden serves the diverse needs and perspectives of the UCLA campus. With stakeholders from different levels and departments, members of this committee provide input and feedback on our collections, programs, and plans for the future.

2020-2021 Members

Marvin Browne
Graduate Student (Sack Lab) – Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

Nina Devries
Associate Director – Life Sciences Development

Thomas Gillespie
Professor – Geography / Institute of the Environment and Sustainability

Nurit Katz
Executive Officer – Facilities Management
Chief Officer – Sustainability

Nathan Kraft
Associate Professor – Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

Stephanie Landregan
Program Director – UCLA Extension Landscape Architecture and Horticulture programs

Luke Nikolav
Assistant Professor – Molecular, Cell, and Developmental Biology

Cully Nordby
Associate Director – Institute of the Environment and Sustainability

Deb Pires
Instructional Consultant and Academic Administrator – Center for Education Innovation in Life Sciences

Phil Rundel
Professor Emeritus – Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Past Director – Botanical Garden & Herbarium

David Shorter
Professor – World Arts and Cultures

Shannon Speed
Associate Professor – American Indian Studies / Gender Studies

Wendy Teeter
Curator – Fowler Museum at UCLA
Lecturer – UCLA American Indian Studies

Felipe Zapata
Assistant Professor – Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

The UCLA Mildred E. Mathias Botanical Garden acknowledges the Gabrielino/Tongva peoples as the traditional land caretakers of Tovaangar (the Los Angeles basin and So. Channel Islands). As a promoter of nature at a California land grant institution, we pay our respects to the Honuukvetam (Ancestors), ‘Ahiihirom (Elders) and ‘Eyoohiinkem (our relatives/relations) past, present and emerging.

© 2019 UCLA Life Sciences | Admin Login